Release: Business Council welcomes young leaders to its Board of Governors

June 25, 2019

June 25, 2019 (Vancouver, B.C.) - The Business Council of British Columbia's 2019 Annual General Meeting brings renewal to its governing bodies. To continue to execute on its mandate, the Business Council is broadening the diversity of its Board of Governors to better inform its policy positions and decision making, through the addition of six young thought leaders representing generational, regional and cultural perspectives as members at-large. This builds on the Council’s existing Board and Executive Committee representation by Ted Lau, current Chair of its NEXT Leaders’ Council, a rapidly growing network of nearly 500 emerging business leaders that engage on timely policy matters.

Chair of the Business Council, Sue Paish, welcomed the move. “For me, the driving force for all thing things I do is ensuring that future generations, my kids and granddaughter, are well-positioned to build on the unlimited potential British Columbia holds. These young leaders represent the future of our economy and we must ensure they are engaged with us and that, as importantly, we listen to them,” said Paish. “It will be their big ideas and strategic leadership that will help evolve our businesses and economy in the long term.”

President and CEO of the Business Council, Greg D’Avignon stated, “For 53 years, we have benefited from the deep commitment of business leaders on our governing bodies and that will not change.” In an increasingly uncertain, complex and changing economy and world, the Business Council is drawing its focus to where our province and country's future economic growth come from. “These at-large members will play an important role in shaping our approach to the seismic shifts upon us. We look forward to hearing their perspectives on the actions needed so that future generations can flourish in the 21st century economy,” said D’Avignon.

The Business Council welcomes the following members at-large to Board of Governors for two-year terms:

  • Chief Willie Sellars, Williams Lake Indian Band
  • Gavin Dew, Founder of Forum for Millennial Leadership and Executive Director, External Relations, Great Canadian Gaming Corporation
  • Carling Dick, Account Director, Earnscliffe Strategy Group
  • Shaheen Chaudhary, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Pragilis Solutions
  • Sara Goldvine, Senior Manager, Stakeholder Relations, Coast Capital Savings
  • James Hoffele, Socio-Economic Project Management Specialist, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority

The Business Council is also pleased to appoint following business leaders to their first three-year term as member of its Board of Governors:

  • David Hoff, Senior Vice President, Corporate communications and Public Affairs, Ledcor
  • Nicolas Jimenez, President & CEO, Insurance Corporation of B.C.
  • Kent Kufeldt, Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais
  • Kevin Layden, President & CEO, Wesbild Holdings
  • Dave Lye, Vice President, External Affairs, Encana
  • Tracy Robinson, Executive Vice President, President Canadian Natural Gas Pipelines, TC Energy
  • Mike Gladstone, Director, External Affairs Canada, Enbridge
  • Kevin Brennan, Senior Vice President, EY
  • David Keane, President, Woodfibre LNG
  • Guoxing Zhang, Head, Vancouver Branch Preparatory Team, Agricultural Bank of China

Three new representatives were also elected to the Council’s Executive Committee for a three-year term:

  • Kathy Butler, Managing Director and Head, CIBC Capital Markets, B.C.
  • Susannah Pierce, Director, External Relations, LNG Canada
  • Tamara Vrooman, President & CEO, Vancity

The Council extends its sincere appreciation to retiring members for their years of service providing counsel and expertise, including:

  • Fiona Macfarlane, EY
  • Richard Dunn, Encana
  • Don Bird, BLG
  • Hassan Khosrowshahi, Westbild
  • Terry Duggan, B.C. Maritime Employers Association
  • Hao Shi, Agricultural Bank of China
  • Kris Homer, Wood PLC
  • Mark Fiedorek, Enbridge
  • Rick Gateman, TC Energy
  • Byng Giraud, Woodfibre LNG
  • David Redfern Lafarge

About the Business Council of British Columbia

Now in its 53rd year as the premier business organization in British Columbia, the Business Council of B.C. is a non-partisan organization made up of 250 leading and largest companies, post-secondary institutions and industry organizations from across B.C.'s diverse economy. The Council produces exceptional public policy research and advocacy in support of creating a competitive economy for the benefit of all British Columbians.

Media Contact

Colin Wong
Director, External and Strategic Communications
T 604.696.6582
C 604.764.8605

Become A BCBC Member



Business Council of British Columbia
1050 West Pender Street, Suite 960
Vancouver BC V6E 3S7


Telephone: 604-684-3384
Media Contact: 604-684-3384

© 2023 Business Council of BC. All rights Reserved.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram