News Release: Business Council Welcomes New Chair, Members and the Next Generation of Leaders to its Board

May 1, 2020

May 1, 2020 (Vancouver, B.C.) - The Business Council of British Columbia (BCBC) held its first virtual Annual General Meeting of members in its 54 years of operations. In doing so, the membership welcomed a new chair and the addition of new Board Governors, including four new members from our province’s fast-rising and talented younger generation.

This year’s incoming and continuing members will build on the Council’s ongoing advocacy and policy initiatives alongside newly elected chair Jeff Zweig, President and CEO of Mosaic Forest Management. Mr. Zweig takes over from outgoing chair Sue Paish, CEO of Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster. At the meeting, Ms. Paish was recognized for the focus, passion and distinction with which she led the BCBC’s volunteer Executive Committee and Board throughout her tenure.

The Business Council also welcomes a new chair of the NEXT Leaders’ Council, Carling Dick, Principal with Earnscliffe Strategy Group. She and three other leaders from NEXT, will contribute their generational lens for two-year terms on BCBC’s Board of Governors.

BCBC President and CEO Greg D’Avignon stated, “For 54 years, we have benefited from the deep commitment of business leaders on our governing bodies to enable B.C. to meet its full potential. The incoming members of the Board of Governors reflect the strength and commitment of B.C.’s business community to BCBC’s overarching work to advance the prosperity of our province’s future generations.”

In an increasingly uncertain, complex, and changing economy and world, the Business Council of B.C. is turning its focus to our province and country's economic restart, and the rebuilding and reimagining of our economy in a post COVID-19 world.

“The Board of Governors will continue to play an important role in keeping employees, customers, suppliers and communities safe in the forthcoming socially and economically constrained restart phase of the crisis,” said D’Avignon. “B.C.’s business community is committed to navigating the course ahead to maximize opportunities for British Columbia’s economy and our personal prosperity in the vastly different world we will encounter in the years after the current pandemic is abated.”

Incoming chair Jeff Zweig commences his term at a time of extraordinary pressure, revenue declines and job losses for many businesses and British Columbians but is confident that the organization will be able to achieve its goals despite difficult times ahead.

“As we traverse this exceptionally challenging time, I have full confidence in the Business Council, our Board and the business community, working with governments to forge a new, prosperous path forward," said Zweig. "We will get through this and, working together, B.C. will be stronger and better positioned to seize the opportunities that lie ahead."

As some leaders depart from the Board, we will miss their contributions to the Business Council. Of note, departing from the Board of Governors is Marcia Smith, who served as chair from 2016 to 2018. During her eight years of service to the Board, Marcia provided sound counsel and guidance, and her tireless commitment to the Business Council is a quality that is inherent in all members of the Board of Governors.

The Business Council welcomes to the Board of Governors the following NEXT Leaders as members at-large for two-year terms:

  • Alysia MacGrotty, Trans Mountain Corporation
  • Salima Remtulla, Leith Wheeler Investment Counsel
  • Sherry Zhao, MITACS

The Business Council is also pleased to appoint the following business leaders to their first three-year term as members of its Board of Governors:

  • Radha Curpen, Bennett Jones
  • Jeff Hanman, Teck Resources
  • Kirk L. Johnson, ConocoPhillips
  • Greg Palaschuk, Finning International

Two new representatives were also elected to the Council’s Executive Committee for a three-year term:

  • Mark Blamey, Kerr Wood Leidal
  • Jeff Hanman, Teck Resources

The Business Council also welcomes a new chair of its NEXT Leaders' Council, which includes a two-year appointment to both the Executive Committee and Board of Governors:

  • Carling Dick, Earnscliffe Strategy Group

The Council extends its sincere appreciation to retiring members for their years of service providing counsel and expertise, including:

  • Mark Collins, B.C. Ferries
  • John Means, TD Canada Trust
  • Rick Eng, Brookfield Management Inc.
  • Ted Lau, Ballistic Arts Media Studios
  • Steven Nielsen, Finning International
  • Andrew Petter, Simon Fraser University
  • Wynne Powell, London Air Services
  • Craig Richmond, Vancouver International Airport
  • Darren Sokoloski, Acciona Infrastructure Canada
  • Marcia Smith Teck Resources
  • Daniel Weeks, UNBC

About the Business Council of British Columbia

Now in its 54th year as the premier business organization in British Columbia, the Business Council of B.C. is a non-partisan organization made up of 250 leading and largest companies, post-secondary institutions and industry organizations from across B.C.'s diverse economy. The Council produces exceptional public policy research and advocacy in support of creating a competitive economy for the benefit of all British Columbians.

Media Contact

Colin Wong
Director, External and Strategic Communications
T 604.696.6582
C 604.764.8605

Become A BCBC Member



Business Council of British Columbia
1050 West Pender Street, Suite 960
Vancouver BC V6E 3S7


Telephone: 604-684-3384
Media Contact: 604-684-3384

© 2023 Business Council of BC. All rights Reserved.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram